This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Operations Groups

The Operations Groups represent individual professional disciplines within non-commercial CTUs. They provide opportunities for professional development through peer-to-peer support, networking events, the creation of training and guidance materials and sharing learning and best practice. These Groups are:

 Each Operations Group leads a programme of work with the aims of:

  • Identifying challenges and developing solutions together;
  • Highlighting challenges which require a policy response;
  • Identifying opportunities to improve efficient trial conduct;
  • Sharing best practice and developing practical guidance on good research practice and quality standards for non-commercial trials;
  • Contributing to national and internationally led new initiatives within the clinical research community; and
  • Representing the views of Registered CTUs.

The Operations Groups develop an annual programme of individual and cross-Group deliverables to support these aims. These deliverables are agreed with the UKCRC CTU Executive Group. The Operations Groups' activities are underpinned by a set of General Terms of Reference along with Supplementary Terms of Reference which are specific to each Group.




- Catherine Hewitt (Chair) - York Trials Unit
- Mike Bradburn - Sheffield Clinical Trials Unit
- Michele Robertson - Glasgow Clinical Trials Unit
- Natalie Ives - Birmingham Clinical Trials Unit
- Louise Stanton - Southampton Clinical Trials Unit
- Graeme McLennan - Centre for Healthcare Randomised Trials (CHaRT)

Statistics Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference


Information Systems


- Sharon Kean (Chair) - Glasgow Clinical Trials Unit
- Carolyn McNamara - The Institute of Cancer Research CTSU
- Tim Chater - Sheffield Clinical Trials Research Unit
- Greg Fegan - Swansea Clinical Trials Unit
- Amanda Bravery - Imperial Clinical Trials Unit
- Patrick Julier - Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit
- Martin Pond - Norwich Clinical Trials Unit

Information Systems Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference


Quality Assurance


- Claire Johnson (Chair) - Centre for Trials Research
- Nicole Gower - CR UK and UCL Cancer Trials Centre
- Gail Holland - Swansea Clinical Trials Unit
- Chris Hayward - Peninsula Clinical Trials Unit
- Katie Neville - Liverpool Trials Collaborative
- Sara Yeats - Southampton Clinical Trials Unit

Quality Assurance Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference


Trial Management


- Lucy Culliford (Chair) - Bristol CTEU
- Emma Ogburn (Deputy Chair) - Oxford Primary Care & Vaccines Collaborative CTU
- Claire Lawless - CaCTUS
- Scott Regan - Warwick Clinical Trials Unit
- Rachel Hobson - Leicester CTU
- Natalie Wakefield - UK Trial Managers' Network Representative

Trial Management Operations Group Supplementary Terms of Reference

Sign In